I’Solisti MYA

I’Solisti MYAC is a small, select chamber orchestra of soloists chosen to perform a series of concerts in public schools and special venues during each season. The ensemble is directed by Charles Pikler, the former principal violist of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Participating students are given scholarships and have the opportunity to perform a movement from a concerto on this concert series. Students must both be in Symphony Orchestra and able to commit to all rehearsals and concerts in order to participate. The minimum instrumentation is six violins; two violas; two cellos; one bass; and winds, brass, and percussion as determined by the Director.

Audition Requirements and Dates

Past Works Performed

  • Bach: Concerto for Violin in A minor
  • Bach: Concerto for Violin in E Major
  • Bach: Concerto in D minor for Two Violins
  • Ball: Concerto for Recorder
  • Bottesini: Concerto for Bass
  • Braga: Angel's Serenade
  • Corelli: Concerto Grosso Op. 6 No. 8
  • Telemann: Concerto for Viola
  • Haydn: Concerto for Violoncello in C Major
  • Mozart: Divertimento, K. 334
  • Saint-Saens: The Elephant from "The Carnival of the Animals"
  • Stamitz: Concerto for Viola
  • Vivaldi: The Four Seasons "Autumn", "Summer"

You can hear select performances of I'Solisti MYAC at wmya.fm.